Home > URGENT ACTION ITEMS!, Washington State Legislation > SB 6813 Vote TOMORROW???

SB 6813 Vote TOMORROW???


NRA-ILA ALERT

The Senate budget released this week would zero out the Washington Department of Fish & Wildlife (WDFW) budget and transfer all WDFW functions to the Department of Natural Resources (DNR) in a merger of the two agencies. Further, it would reduce by $10.5 million the amount spent on the functions that have been handled by WDFW.

To those involved in the shooting sports, the net result of such a transfer of authority would likely be devastating. Gun owners and sportsmen have been fighting DNR for years with regard to shooting and hunting on DNR land. Leadership in DNR is, at best, indifferent to the interests of sportsmen and, more likely, hostile and antagonistic.

The majority of hunters and sportsmen in Washington State agreed last year to surcharges on their licenses to keep important WDFW functions in place. Every hunting (and fishing) program and every dedicated fund is at risk for reduction or termination. Sportsmen’s support of the department could be wiped out if the Senate Budget is allowed to advance with the merger language in it.

It is critical that hunters and sportsmen contact the members of the Senate Ways & Means Committee immediately! Tell them to OPPOSE THE MERGER OF WDFW INTO DNR! Please leave messages for your Senator and Representatives, as well.

Senator Margarita Prentice  (D-)
prentice.margarita@leg.wa.gov
Committees
Ways & Means (Chair)
Olympia Office
303 Cherberg Building
Olympia, WA 98504-0411
(360) 786-7616
1-800-562-6000

Senator Karen Fraser  (D-)
fraser.karen@leg.wa.gov
Committees
Ways & Means (Vice-Chair Capital Budget)
Olympia Office
404 Legislative Building
Olympia, WA 98504-0422
(360) 786-7642
1-800-562-6000

Senator Rodney Tom  (D-)
(Author of the SB 6813 merger effort)
tom.rodney@leg.wa.gov
Committees
Ways & Means (Vice Chair Operating Budget)
Olympia Office
220 Cherberg Building
Olympia, WA 98504-0448
(360) 786-7694
1-800-562-6000
Senator Joseph Zarelli (R-)
zarelli.joseph@leg.wa.gov
Olympia Office
204 Newhouse Building
P.O. Box 40418
Olympia WA 98504-0418
Phone: (360) 786-7634
Toll-Free: 1 (800) 562-6000
Fax: (360) 786-7524

Senator Dale Brandland  (R-)
brandland.dale@leg.wa.gov
Olympia Office
203 Newhouse Building
P.O. Box 40442
Olympia WA 98504-0442
Phone: (360) 786-7682
Toll-Free: (800) 562-6000
Fax: (360) 786-7524

Senator Mike Carrell  (R-)
carrell.michael@leg.wa.gov
Olympia Office
102 Newhouse Building
P.O. Box 40428
Olympia WA 98504-0428
Office Phone: (360) 786-7654
Home Phone: (253) 581-2859
Toll-Free: (800) 562-6000
Fax: (360) 786-7819

Senator Darlene Fairley  (D-)
fairley.darlene@leg.wa.gov
Olympia Office
227 Cherberg Building
Olympia, WA 98504-0432
(360) 786-7662
1-800-562-6000

Senator Mike Hewitt  (R-)
hewitt.mike@leg.wa.gov
Olympia Office
314 Legislative Building
P.O. Box 40416
Olympia WA 98504-0416
Phone: (360) 786-7630
Toll-Free: 1 (800) 562-6000
Fax: (360) 786-1266

Senator Steve Hobbs  (D-)
hobbs.steve@leg.wa.gov
Olympia Office
213 Cherberg Building
Olympia, WA 98504-0444
(360) 786-7686
1-800-562-6000

Senator Jim Honeyford (R-)
honeyford.jim@leg.wa.gov
Olympia Office
107 Newhouse Building
P.O. Box 40415
Olympia WA 98504-0415
Phone: (360) 786-7684
Toll-Free: 1 (800) 562-6000
Fax: (360) 786-7173

Senator Karen Keiser  (D-)
keiser.karen@leg.wa.gov
Olympia Office
224 Cherberg Building
Olympia, WA 98504-0433
(360) 786-7664
1-800-562-6000

Senator Adam Kline  (D-)
kline.adam@leg.wa.gov
Olympia Office:
223 Cherberg Building
Olympia, WA 98504-0437
(360) 786-7688
1-800-562-6000

Senator Jeanne Kohl-Welles  (D-)
kohl-welles.jeanne@leg.wa.gov
Olympia Office
219 Cherberg Building
Olympia, WA 98504-0436
(360) 786-7670
1-800-562-6000

Senator Joe McDermott  (D-)
mcdermott.joe@leg.wa.gov
Olympia Office
230 Cherberg Building
Olympia, WA 98504-0434
(360) 786-7667
1-800-562-6000

Senator Ed Murray  (D-)
murray.edward@leg.wa.gov
Olympia Office
215 Cherberg Building
Olympia, WA 98504-0443
(360) 786-7628
1-800-562-6000

Senator Eric Oemig  (D-)
oemig.eric@leg.wa.gov
Olympia Office
416 Legislative Building
Olympia, WA 98504-0445
(360) 786-7672
1-800-562-6000

Senator Linda Evans Parlette  (R-)
parlette.linda@leg.wa.gov
Olympia Office
316 Legislative Building
P.O. Box 40412
Olympia WA 98504-0412
Phone: (360) 786-7622
Toll-Free: 1 (800) 562-6000
Fax: (360) 786-1266

Senator Cheryl Pflug  (R-)
pflug.cheryl@leg.wa.gov
Olympia Office
415 Legislative Building
P.O. Box 40405
Olympia WA 98504-0405
Phone: (360) 786-7608
Toll-Free: 1 (800) 562-6000
Fax: (360) 786-1266

Senator Craig Pride more  (D-)
pridemore.craig@leg.wa.gov
Olympia Office
212 Cherberg Building
Olympia, WA 98504-0449
(360) 786-7696
1-800-562-6000

Senator Debbie Regala  (D-)
regala.debbie@leg.wa.gov
Olympia Office
233 Cherberg Building
Olympia, WA 98504-0427
(360) 786-7652
1-800-562-6000

Senator Phil Rockefeller  (D-)
rockefeller.phil@leg.wa.gov
Olympia Office
218 John A. Cherberg Building
Olympia, WA 98504-0430
(360) 786-7644
Fax: (360) 786-1999
1-800-562-6000

Senator Mark Schoesler  (R-)
schoesler.mark@leg.wa.gov
Olympia Office
Phone: (360) 786-7620
Toll-Free: 1 (800) 562-6000
Fax: (360) 786-7819

Your Senator and his or her email address can be found here: https://dlr.leg.wa.gov/MemberEmail/Default.aspx?Chamber=S

The toll-free Legislative Hotline number for those wanting to leave a phone message for their legislators is (800)562-6000.

Please call and email your legislators immediately!  A Ways & Means vote on the Senate Budget with the merger language could occur as early as tomorrow morning.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: