Home > Miscellaneous > The Slackers’ Manifesto

The Slackers’ Manifesto


December 19, 2012

The Slackers’ Manifesto

By: Ed Lasky

 

I refuse to pay the New York Times any money so I husband the free internet articles I get every month.  But I knew if I picked this one my views would be confirmed.

After Recession, More Young Adults Are Living on Street

By SUSAN SAULNY

SEATTLE – Duane Taylor was studying the humanities in community college and living in his own place when he lost his job in a round of layoffs. Then he found, and lost, a second job. And a third.

Now, with what he calls “lowered standards” and a tenuous new position at a Jack in the Box restaurant, Mr. Taylor, 24, does not make enough to rent an apartment or share one. He sleeps on a mat in a homeless shelter, except when his sister lets him crash on her couch.

Seemingly, every time the paper runs an article regarding how tough young people have it, they choose people who themselves are partly if not wholly responsible for their predicament (of course, the paper never points this perspective out). For example, the first “victim” majored in humanities in college.

Who guides these kids to take “easy” majors with no job prospects? Are we supposed to feel that free enterprise has ruined these kids’ futures? I feel bad for middle-age people who have lost their jobs or are unemployed through no fault of their own — not for Obama voters who are too short-sighted to face reality and expect hardworking Americans (or massive government borrowing that someone else  will pay off) to support them?

We drill into our kids the need to get jobs that will support them.  Studies show that many job openings go begging — are these people too elitist to take them?

  1. CounterRevolution
    December 19, 2012 at 18:24

    There are HUNDREDS of THOUSANDS of TECHNICAL jobs that go begging for workers every day. As an Engineer with degrees in Aerospace and Electrical Engineering, I also have a Master of Science in Technology Management and certificates in things like Precision Machining Technology and other related stuff. I can build anything I design and can teach it to others as well. I have taught Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering at the University level for years as well as Technology at a Technical College (adjunct position, Hydraulics, Electricity, Programmable Logic Controllers, Rigging, Plumbing and some Welding classes) I’m currently an Adjunct Professor for Special Projects back at the University I used to teach full-time at. I own and operate (since 1993) a Design/Build Engineering company and one of our specialties is laboratory and prototype equipment for Nuclear Medicine ( both Imaging and Treatment). I also build automobiles (Society of Automotive Engineers, SAE since 1989 and Sports Car Club of America, SCCA) both electric conversions and hot rods of all makes and aircraft (Piloted and remotely piloted). We are currently working on some alternative energy projects (non-Methanol) as well.

    I worked as a utility worker, busboy, server and cook at a couple of restaurants (Red Lobster, Jack-In-The-Box and Pizza Inn) for several years to pay for my college education. I cook all the meals for my family and love to cook. (I am a crappy house-keeper but I know how to run a vacuum-cleaner). I have no (ZERO) sympathy for people who pay somebody to teach them how to be a social worker or gender/race/LBGT sad-sack and wouldn’t let my kids be taught by somebody who did that in school.

    I also don’t feel that a person who makes that kind of decision with their life deserves to be made whole by society when they were stupid enough to fall for the hype that schools give to this kind of junk. Most college professors never leave academia because they would rather have someone else fund their lives than work for it. Viet Nam was a turning point for allowing Communists like Bill Ayres and Bernardine Dohrn to continue living and indoctrinating our children. Do you know the “Obama-2008” bumper-sticker was derived from the Weather Underground Organization’s logos? Explains a lot doesn’t it? Like Vladimir Illych Ulyanov (Lenin) once said “Give me your children for four years and I will plant the seeds that will never be uprooted”.

    • December 19, 2012 at 18:41

      Are you trying to seduce me, Counter? 😉

      Kidding aside, I agree with you. I was forced at a very young age to support myself. I took jobs at fast food joints and other menial work just to get through school and pay my own bills. Never once took a handout because I was taught otherwise. If I wanted to be considered a strong, independent woman, I had to walk that talk. NO EXCUSES. Today, I see middle aged adults still in college, with no shame whatsoever about their laziness and lack of ambition in life. I’ve gotten to the point when I meet someone who’s over the age of 25 and still in school I simply say “Ah, so you’re a Career student” and walk away.

      What a useless waste of our oxygen.

      • CounterRevolution
        December 19, 2012 at 22:47

        Seduce you? Naw, but my point is that you never need to quit learning and even though I have too much education, at least I put it to use and don’t blame others for my own failures. I’m not beneath getting a few radiation burns with the TIG welder or stainless steel splinters in my fingers to do a project. I get so tired of people in my own extended family acting like their lack of success is somebody else’s fault. The first time I heard of the “Participation Trophy Generation” I almost died laughing, ANYBODY could see this coming. I will look you up if we move to Montana however! It takes about a dozen adults to post a 24/7 guard!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

