Archive

Posts Tagged ‘hb 651’

ACTION REQUEST! HB 651 Scheduled for Hearing.

February 27, 2010 Leave a comment

HELP– URGENT *** ROUND 4 ***

Protect gun owners money from raids Friday, February 26, 2010

DATE: February 26, 2010

TO: USF & NRA Members and Friends

FROM: Marion P. Hammer USF Executive Director NRA Past President

HB-651 by Rep. David Rivera (R) is scheduled for a hearing in the House Full Appropriations Council on Education & Economic Development on Tuesday, March 2, 2010. HB-651 is a bill to STOP legislative raids to remove (confiscate) gun owner money from the Division of Licensing Trust Fund — that holds funding to administer the Concealed Weapons & Firearms Licensing program.

Last year the legislature took $6 million from the Division of Licensing Concealed Weapons and Firearm Trust Fund that is intended, by law, to be used solely for administering the concealed weapons and firearms licensing program. (Read background Information below)

Rep. Rivera’s bill will stop funding raids in the future. PLEASE IMMEDIATELY EMAIL Members of the Appropriations Council In the subject line put: SUPPORT HB-651 — Protect the DOL Trust Fund

(Block and Copy All email addresses into the “Send To” box)

David.Rivera@myfloridahouse.gov, Ron.Reagan@myfloridahouse.gov, Sandy.Adams@myfloridahouse.gov, Ellyn.Bogdanoff@myfloridahouse.gov, Ronald.Brise@myfloridahouse.gov, Charles.Chestnut@myfloridahouse.gov, Anitere.Flores@myfloridahouse.gov, Bill.Galvano@myfloridahouse.gov, Joe.Gibbons@myfloridahouse.gov, Rich.Glorioso@myfloridahouse.gov, Denise.Grimsley@myfloridahouse.gov, Alan.Hays@myfloridahouse.gov, Ralph.Poppell@myfloridahouse.gov, Bill.Proctor@myfloridahouse.gov, Kelly.Skidmore@myfloridahouse.gov, Geraldine.Thompson@myfloridahouse.gov, Will.Weatherford@myfloridahouse.gov,

BACKGROUND

HB-651 provides protection to the Division of Agriculture’s Division of Licensing Trust Fund which handles the fees paid by gun owners to administer the Concealed Weapons and Firearms licensing program

In 1987, passage of the concealed weapons and licensing law had a financial contingency:

1. The legislature insisted that the statewide “Shall Issue” licensing process not require nor be dependent upon General Revenue or any government funding whatever. (Certain members of the legislature were determined that no tax dollars ever be used to fund gun owner programs.)

2. The NRA, Unified Sportsmen of Florida and gun owners, insisted that licensing fees be only the amount necessary to administer the program, no more, no less. Further, we insisted that the fees be held in a trust fund and used solely for the benefit of and administration of the program. That was the agreement. And language was put in the bill to insure that the terms of the agreement were met. – OR at least it was language everyone THOUGHT would protect the agreement and the money.

We’ve kept our part of the agreement. In the more than 22 plus years that this program has been in effect, not one single dime has ever come from general revenue or any other government fund. 100% of the program funding has come from gun owners. The other half of the agreement needs to be kept.

Raids cannot be tolerated. That money is held in “trust” until needed to administer the program, including buy or upgrade computers, buy or upgrade other essential equipment and stay technology in a position to run the program appropriately. This specific trust fund needs to be protected because these funds facilitate the exercise of a constitutional right.

REMEMBER: When government takes citizen money for general use by government, IT’S A TAX. When government confiscates user fees from trust funds intended to be used to administer specific programs and converts it to government use for other purposes, IT’S A TAX. When government leaders claim to oppose tax increases and promise not to create new taxes but then raid trust funds, they have deceived you because THEY HAVE CREATED A NEW TAX.

When the Florida Legislature raids the concealed weapons and firearms licensing trust fund they have CREATED A TAX ON THE EXERCISE OF THE SECOND AMENDMENT.

Courts have ruled that states may not tax the exercise of a right protected by the federal constitution

IT IS URGENT THAT YOU EMAIL THE HOUSE FULL APPROPRIATIONS COUNCIL ON EDUCATION & ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT TODAY.

Copyright 2010, National Rifle Association of America, Institute for Legislative Action. This may be reproduced. It may not be reproduced for commercial purposes. 11250 Waples Mill Road, Fairfax, VA 22030 800-392-8683

%d bloggers like this: